Company History

Bray & Slaughter was formed in 1900 when Sydney Slaughter joined forces with Percy Bray, who had a small plumbing firm. This partnership continued until 1927, when Percy died and his son Percy John Bray took over from him. B&S then continued until 1932, when Sydney Slaughter’s nephew Sydney Richard Slaughter joined the firm.

“Even with our considerable experience, we are not a large company and set great store by the personal service we can offer to any building contract we undertake.”

Bray & Slaughter became a limited company on 24th March 1934. The company premises were originally at Lydstep Terrace, Bedminster, but the buildings were badly damaged during the war and the firm was forced to move to a temporary site in Holy Cross Church Hall. In the early 1950s, B&S moved to its present site in Parson Street, Bedminster.

Sydney Slaughter, the last family director, died in 1976 since when the company has continued to trade as a close knit unit under the present directorship. Even with our considerable experience, we are not a large company and set great store by the personal service we can offer to any building contract we undertake.

We have a wide range of skills and trades available and are particularly suited to achieving high levels of finish and working within tight programme schedules. We have recently converted our old joinery mill into an eco-friendly head-office in Bedminster and are continually updating and keeping pace with an ever changing and demanding industry.

Percy Bray and Sydney Slaughter

Percy Bray and Sydney Slaughter

(Clockwise) Knowle Racecourse, Brooks Dye Works chimney and Holy Cross Church Bedminster.